BEST FRIENDS DO THE ABC BOOK TAG!

Currently, my best friend Alejandra and I are sitting in my living room after spending a whole lot of store credit at our local bookstore. So just for funsies, we thought we’d both take a crack at this book tag I scraped up from BookTube. The questions are themed by the letters of the alphabet (obviously) so we each went down and both answered the questions.

Screen Shot 2017-04-21 at 10.03.47 PM

A: Authors you’ve read the most from:

A: Lyndsay Sands. I have all her books. Well, no, I don’t have her latest book but yes, Lyndsay Sands. Her new Argeneau series and all of her historical fiction, YES. Seriously, some of the most interesting twists I’ve ever read.

K: Probably Stephen King, although admittedly I haven’t liked all of the books by him I’ve read. Sometimes he gets way too wordy for me.

B: Best sequel ever:

A: Umm… Inkspell, from the Inkheart trilogy. That’s the one I read the most.

K: Catching Fire was definitely the best of The Hunger Games for me. It introduced Finnick and Johanna, had lots of great scenes, and I think the arena was so much cooler than the first one.

C: Currently reading:

A: Uprooted. I’m really loving it. It’s not what I expected, and that pleases me greatly.

K: I’m currently making my way through the Asylum series by Melissa Roux. It’s pretty good. A little drab at parts, but engaging.

D: Drink of choice while reading:

A: Water. I do not want to risk having soda spills or tea or juice or anything, nah. Water, man. Sometimes I drink coffee, though.

K: I’m gonna have to say tea. Preferably a nice iced green or oolong tea from our local tea shop or something.

E: E-readers or physical books?

A: Physical. Not that I don’t use my little Amazon tablet for e-books, cause I do. It’s not as enjoyable for me

K: Physical only because I’m a hoarder and like collecting things. I also feel the intense need for everyone to see what I’m reading. In case they want to strike up conversation

F: Fictional character you would date:

A: Peeta Mellark. Who the fuck else? I love Draco Malfoy, but most of the fics I read are his redemption ark. I gotta go with my baker. Who loves so fully.

K: I don’t know about high school, but I would definitely date the shit out of Noah from The Raven Cycle. However, Alejandra is sitting next to me saying I absolutely cannot because he’s dead. But I don’t care. I do what I want.

G: Glad you gave this book a chance:

A: There’s so many for that! The Rainbow Boys! That was my first LGBT novel ever, and I wasn’t as open minded before. But thanks to that series, it really opened my mind to reading books that were outside my own experience.

K: Everything, Everything. I would have never read it if Amandla Stenberg wasn’t in the movie, admittedly. But I’m glad I did, because it ended up being very good.

H: Hidden book gem:

A: Blood and Chocolate!

K: BLOOD AND CHOCOLATE!

I: Important moment in your reading life:

A: For me, it’d have to be going to the Wizarding World of Harry Potter. Because even as an adult, going to someplace I’ve read about that was real and tangible, it literally was the most magical moment of my life.

K: I think for me it was meeting Victoria Schwab. I remember she really liked me because my name was Kell, and that made me feel special. She was just a really great person and so nice to everyone. And she gave me some postcards of her characters. She’s just amazing.

J: Just finished:

A: Arrow: A Generation of Vipers. I feel no shame. OLICITYYYY. It was so good. It was beautiful. Honestly, it’s…. it just makes me think of a review that someone did on the book.  It serves as a bridge between season three and season four, and it was entertaining as fuck, and showed an insight into two of my favorite characters, and it did them justice and made me fall in love with them even more.

K: The second book in the Asylum trilogy, Sanctum. It had a circus theme rather than an asylum theme, or at least, it was trying to. Aesthetically, it came across, but not really in the story. I think I liked it more than the first one, though.

K: Kind of  books that you won’t read:

A: Westerns. Boring as fuck. I had to take a class where it was hyper-focused on Westerns. And I found that it wasn’t interesting, there was NO romance, the girls were NOT independent or powerful, there were no good female protagonists, it was all these brutish ass men out in the wild. And they ain’t even gay.

K: I never say never, but I’m extremely uninterested in heterosexual romance usually. It has to have something really special about it, or have the romance be very very understated. Of course, there are some exceptions. Like the aforementioned Blood and Chocolate.

L: Longest book you’ve read:

A: Hm. I’ve never really paid attention to that. I really wouldn’t know.

K: Definitely Les Miserables. It was hell hauling that book around for as long as it took me to read it.

M: Major book hangover:

A: It would have to be… A Lover’s Dictionary by David Levithan. That book fucked me up. It was so good.

K: The Raven King. I’m aware that The Raven Cycle is my answer to like, half these questions, but I rode my bike down to the bookstore at nine in the morning to get the book, and I read it all in one day, I skipped class to read it, and afterward I just laid down on the floor and cried because it was over.

N: Number of bookcases you own:

A: My revolving bookshelf, can that count as four? Cause it has four sides. Then I have two inside my closet, so that’s three, then I have a top shelf for my books, so that’s four. And then I just bought two three-shelf panels to put on my wall. So like, six shelves.

K: I only have two shelves, sadly, which is why I’m somewhat critical regarding the books I keep in my collection. But I can always exchange the ones I give away for store credit!

O: One book you’ve read multiple times:

A: Nick and Norah’s Infinite Playlist. That book is just… it’s a good one. So I read it often.

K: I reread Sweetblood quite a bit. It’s a good pick me up since the main character hits rock bottom and then rises back up. It’s pretty uplifting to me.

P: Preferred place to read:

A: Anywhere I can get cozy. And by cozy I mean, like, warm, maybe with a blanket, or a pillow. But not my bed, because if I read in my bed, I fall asleep.

K: I love reading in public for some reason. Like, in a coffee shop, in the library, outside on a bench downtown, anywhere away from home.

Q: Quote that inspires you:

A: From Blood and Chocolate: “He was raw and sharp and rich and throbbing with life. He was sweet blood after a long hunt. How could she have mistaken Aiden’s kisses for this? They had been delicious and smooth like the brief comfort of chocolate, but they had never been enough.”

K: My quote is from The Raven King. “His feelings for Adam were an oil spill; he’d let them overflow and now there wasn’t a damn place in the ocean that wouldn’t catch fire if he dropped a match.”

R: Reading regret:

A: The obvious answer would be the Twilight series, but I don’t! Reading the series is what really turned me into a bookworm. Definitely City of Bones. I don’t want anything to do with it.

K: Honestly, and this is so frustrating, I regret reading Les Mis. I didn’t end up liking it that much, and it took me soooo long to read, I feel like I wasted a lot of time

S: Series you started and need to finish:

A: The Raven Cycle. I’ve read the first two books, I need to read the other two.

K: I’m working on the Asylum series, so probably that one.

T: Three of your all-time favorite books:

A: The Forbidden Game series by LJ Smith. God, I have so many… Blood and Chocolate. And then Skip Beat, a manga series. I literally reread Skip Beat all the time.

K: My top three are The Raven Cycle series, the Shades of Magic trilogy, and probably Blood and Chocolate as well.

U: Unapologetic fangirl for:

A: All my fangirling right now is for Arrow, and my reading goes all toward fanfiction. No shame.

K: Obviously, The Raven Cycle. I talk about it way too often.

V: Very excited for this release:

A: I Am Not Your Perfect Mexican Daughter. I need to read that. I need to wait a couple months, sadly.

K: Our Dark Duet! Definitely! And Adam Silvera’s new book, They Both Die at the End. But when ODD comes out, I get to meet Victoria again! So I’m really excited.

W: Worst bookish habit:

A: Not reading? Like, I either read a book like in one sitting, or it takes me months to finish a book. I get distracted by fanfiction.

K: Definitely abandoning series because I get bored. That’s why I have to like, read shorter buffer books between books in a series.

X: X marks the spot – start at the top left of your shelf and pick the 27th book:

A: The Host by Stephenie Meyer.

K: HOLY SHIT ALSO THE HOST. What are the goddamn odds!? This is fantastic.

Y: Your latest book purchase:

A: Alex and Eliza and Cress.

K: I got The Hate U Give, The Bone Witch, Vicious, and Throne of Glass. This is what we used our store credit for.

Z: Z-snatcher – book that kept you up late:

A: Bitch, all of them. But if I had to name one… The Raven Boys. I finished that in one go.

K: I stayed up all night to finish A Gathering of Shadows. Like, literally all night.

So that’s it for the second blog post of the day! But this one was more silly and fun, so it was easy to write. If you’re reading this, we both love y’all, and you might see Alejandra on my blog in the future for things like this, who knows. She makes a good guest.

Anyway, farewell, and have a delightful evening!

xoxo Kell

Leave a Reply

